Heart of Gold Award

The Heart of Gold Award honors LaGrange County citizens who embrace a volunteer spirit and unselfishly give of themselves to serve others. These individuals have been nominated by their peers to recognize their service.

Nominees share their time and energy for the sake of others, render a service that changes lives, work to create positive change, inspire others to volunteer, and much more.

It is our honor each year to be able to celebrate individuals who you, our community, have nominated. Then to present the nominees with the opportunity to select a nonprofit of their choice, that we can give grant money to. Nominees select a nonprofit to receive $500, and the winner of the Heart of Gold award selects a nonprofit to receive $1000. It's the least we can do. Volunteerism is the heart and hands of this community. 

Nominees are recognized each year at our Annual Event.

Past Heart of Gold Award Recipients

Amy Whited, 2023

Allisa Brown, 2022

Dean Domer and Shanan Staton, 2021

Erica Cook, 2020

Richard Yoder, 2019

Larry Strayer, 2018

Kevin Lambright, 2017

Steve Sherck, 2016

Sue Keenan, 2015

Jack Miller, 2014

Randy Packer, 2013

Colton Strawser, 2012

Rhonda Bartlett, 2011

Dave Clark, 2010


2023 Nominees (left to right)- Heather Evenson, Alexis Grossman, Amy Bremer, John Schmidt, Amy Whited, Keith James, Samantha Davis-Kania, Kevin Myers, Randy Merrifield, and Mike Brudney


2022 Nominees (left to right) Carolyn Hostetler, Allisa Brown and Kailie Snyder-Evard (not pictured- Chad Miller)

2021 Nominees (left to right)- Lauri Couture, Brett Bateman, Melissa Bateman, Shanan Staton, Dean Domer, Jamelle Godlewski, Linda Simmons, and Carolyn Hostetler. (Not pictured- Matt Gingerich)