$77,000 in Scholarships to Graduating Seniors

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2021 Community Scholarship Program, which aims to support the educational aspirations of students in LaGrange County.

Eightteen graduating seniors will receive $77,000 in scholarships.

Lakeland Seniors, (left to right) Tatum Retterbush, Madison Keli, Elizabeth Jennings and Catelyn McNamara

The Community Scholarship Program is open to graduating high school seniors who are pursuing higher education at an accredited university, college or trade school. The program has grown to include 45 donor-created scholarship funds, eachi with thier own unique criteria. Funds are started by individuals, families and businesses and are managed by the Community Foundation.

We look forward to awarding scholarships to high school seniors each year, and it’s exciting to be making these awards in person again. These scholarships recognize the accomplishments the students have achieved in the last four years.

Executive Director, Octavia Yoder

2021 scholarship recipients, listed by schools, are as follows:

Lakeland Jr. Sr. High School scholarship recipients:

  • Catelyn McNamara – Wolcott Mills Bulldog Boosters Scholarship;
  • Elizabeth Jennings – Ray & Ruth Culp Memorial Scholarship, Bruce Brown Memorial Scholarship;
  • Madison Keil – HOPE Nursing Scholarship, Lakeland Scholarship, Judy Gage-Keenan Memorial Scholarship, Olivia Bay Lemings Memorial Scholarship, Paul & Marian Krebs Scholarship, Virgil & Florence Hardin Memorial Scholarship; and
  • Tatum Retterbush – Schlemmer Scholarship, Waddell Memorial Scholarship.

Prairie Heights High School scholarship recipients:

  • Abigail Hantz – Craig D. & Ronda Neff Memorial Scholarship, Ellsworth Fanning Memorial Scholarship, Kevin Lewis Purdue Ag Scholarship, Ned Stump Memorial Scholarship;
  • Amelia Johnston – Craig D. & Ronda Neff Memorial Scholarship, Holly Petersen Memorial Science Scholarship, Joseph Willard Memorial Scholarship, Melvin & Marjorie Bricker Memorial Scholarship, Prairie Heights Scholarship, Lambright Leadership Scholarship;
  • Collin Keeslar – Ellsworth Fanning Memorial Scholarship, LaGrange County Farm Bureau Co-Op Scholarship, Stan Anderson Memorial Golf Scholarship;
  • Haylee Henderson – Holly Petersen Memorial Science Scholarship, Prairie Heights Scholarship;
  • Kiana Allshouse – Peggy Messer Memorial Scholarship;
  • Madelyn Wylie – Amanda Lou Crotts Memorial Scholarship, Beverly Todd Memorial Scholarship, Perkins Family Scholarship, Prairie Heights Band Scholarship, Prairie Heights Scholarship; and
  • Raegan Moore – Prairie Heights Scholarship.

Westview Jr. Sr. High School scholarship recipients:

  • Alexis Miller – Kerry Wilt-Spradlin Memorial Scholarship, Lambright Leadership Scholarship;
  • Ava Miller – Allread-Rife Scholarship, Morgan Hunter Memorial Scholarship;
  • Hallie Mast – Lambright Leadership Scholarship;
  • Nicole Miller – Allread-Rife Scholarship, Farmwald Scholarship, James F. Kalb Memorial Scholarship, Keith & Arline Davis Memorial Scholarship, Melvin & Marjorie Bricker Memorial Scholarship;
  • Nicole Stutzman – Rheinheimer Scholarship;
  • Timothy Brandenberger – Rheinheimer Scholarship; and
  • William Clark – LIFE Scholarship, Lyle Smith Scholarship, Lambright Leadership Scholarship.

If you would like to donate to the Community Scholarship Program: